Image

Why Council Homes Chat….?

In recent years there has been a torrent of misleading, sensationalist reporting in both the print media & on television programmes. Recent examples include; ‘Benefits Street’ & ‘How to get a Council House’.  Each of these programmes had it’s own special brand of reporting, which failed to depict a balanced and thoughtful picture. Instead opting for heavily biased journalism aimed at boosting ratings & creating a ‘moral panic’ amongst its viewers.

Panic

If the TV programmes & skewed reporting amongst the print media weren’t bad enough, the twitter hashtags created by such programmes are quite frankly scary! You only have to look at the ‘twitter storm’ created by Wednesday’s ‘How to get a Council house’ to get a glimpse of the hateful bigotry & at best massively ill-informed views created by such media reporting. image We’ve  had enough….

Growing up within Council housing gave me the best possible start I could have in life. It was safe, secure and enabled my family to feel part of a community. It meant I had a happy and healthy childhood and I still hold great memories and fondness of my time there. Likewise as a housing professional I get to see how social housing brings out the best in people. Having a home shouldn’t be dependent on someone’s income or ability to pay. imagePut simply a house is someone’s home, where they can grow roots, build a community & have a family. A stable home provides people with a solid foundation for good health, employment & happiness. The tenure of the home shouldn’t matter, it is only right to have a good menu of tenures to suit different needs, however this does not make one more important or desirable than the others. This is why it’s essential to start challenging the stereotypes created by the mainstream media. image Council Homes Chat was set up to challenge the status quo & to act as a platform for people to tell their stories, especially the ones that the media refuses to report, because dare I say it… They’re positive! The benefits of good, decent & secure housing has been well-documented, both in terms of individuals health & wellbeing, but also to society as a whole. These are the stories that we need to start telling…

How you can get involved… 

If you believe in the right to have a safe, secure & decent home regardless of income & would like to get involved in our campaign then please get in touch.

4 thoughts on “Why Council Homes Chat….?

  1. For sixty seven years I’ve lived in council or housing association houses…met some of the finest people living…Society is the foundation of our lives and council homes are the bedrocks, society is built on.

  2. I lived with my parents, grandparents and an uncle in Council Housing in cramped conditions until when I was 3 my parents were offered a brand new Council maisonette with a garden which was fabulous. We lived here until I was12 when we were moved on medical grounds to a larger house with my two younger sisters. I can recall lots of happy memories of both those places and a great community spirit. Certainly set my young parents up with their own home and a great start for family life as well as an early understanding of social housing for myself which has ensured a ‘reality check’ during my housing career

  3. The social stigma attached to social/council housing is so misplaced. I am a 49 divorced woman who grew up in council housing until the age of 27, at which point I bought my first home. As the youngest of 7 children who were all loved, kept clean, went to school, respected our parents – both of whom worked – I never for one minute felt I was anything else but a model citizen and not characterised by living in council housing. I have now worked in social housing for 10 years and am saddened by the character assassination that society now places on those living in social/council housing. My own circumstances have now changed and I am renting privately again. I would whole heartedly go back to social/council renting but the rules of getting a tenancy exclude me from applying. I wonder if things were to change in that regard we would get a real diverse mix of people living in social/council housing that may then start to end the stigma that is associated with this choice of tenure. I am proud of my roots and will continue to stand up for social/council housing.

Leave a Reply

